Schloss Staufenberg Winery Wine bar
Weddings Conferences Celebrations

Welcome to the Ortenau's finest terrace

Schloss Staufenberg in Durbach

A panoramic view in every direction! This must have been the benchmark set roughly 1000 years ago by the Graves of Stouffenberg when they built their fortress on the 383 meter high rocky outcrop above the Durbach Valley. And indeed: The views are outstanding. A remarkable region where you can sip the sun in a glass of wine, where the sunsets are breathtaking, and where seldom a guest leaves without having fallen just a little bit in love with this truly special piece of earth.

History of a landmark

Schloss Staufenberg entered into the possession of the Margrave of Baden in 1366 — and since 1693 has remained in the ownership of the Margrave's descendants. In the years between, Schloss Staufenberg became the hub of Baden viniculture not least due in part to numerous weddings, regime changes, war, destruction and plundering. Yet history speaks for itself: The Margraves of Baden have done more than just own Schloss Staufenberg, they've also taken excellent care of it. Extensive renovations were undertaken to repair the damages from the 30 Years War, including an expansion of the fortress in the 19th century into a Romantic-style castle.

Tourist destination with international appeal

Following a labor-of-love restoration in 2012, the inner courtyard and surrounding buildings now radiate with a brilliant shine. They are the present home to the self-service terrace restaurant, the Weinstube Schloss Staufenberg (a wine bar), a farmer's market in the courtyard offering high-quality regional produce, and the Chocolaterie Danner — as well as a branch of Weingut Markgraf von Baden with a tasting room and retail shop. The bird-of-prey demonstration is a popular local diversion as well.


And following its latest renovation, Schloss Staufenberg is a prime tourist magnet with local delicacies for everyone!

Schloss Staufenberg Weingut Weinstube
Hochzeiten Tagungen Feste

Schloss Staufenberg in Durbach

Willkommen auf der Terrasse der Ortenau

Nach allen Seiten freie Sicht! Dies muss die Maßgabe gewesen sein, als vor rund 1000 Jahren die Grafen von Stouffenberg die 383 Meter hohe Felsnase über dem Durbachtal mit ihrer Festung bebauten. In der Tat: Es ist ein Ausblick, der sich sehen lassen kann. Ein wunderbarer Ort an dem man die Sonne im Weinglas schmeckt, Sonnenuntergänge atemberaubend sind und selten ein Gast geht, ohne sich in diesen wunderbaren Flecken Erde verliebt zu haben.

Geschichte eines Wahrzeichens

1366 kam Schloss Staufenberg erstmals in den Besitz der Markgrafen von Baden – seit 1693 gehört es endgültig der markgräflichen Familie. Dazwischen lagen Hochzeiten, in denen Schloss Staufenberg zum Zentrum des Badischen Weinbaus wurde, aber auch wechselnde Schlossherren, Krieg, Zerstörungen und Plündereien. Doch die Historie zeigt: Die Markgrafen von Baden besitzen Schloss Staufenberg nicht nur, Sie haben es auch in ihre Obhut genommen. Die Schäden des 30-jährigen Kriegs wurden behoben und die Festung im 19. Jahrhundert im Stil der Romantik zum Schloss ausgebaut.

Ausflugsziel mit überregionaler Anziehungskraft

Nach einer liebevollen Renovierung im Jahr 2012 erstahlen der Innenhof und die umliegenden Gebäude in neuem Glanz. Hier findet sich heute neben der Sonnenterrasse mit Selbstbedienung, der Weinstube Schloss Staufenberg, dem Hofladen mit hochwertigen regionalen Produkten, und der Chocolaterie Danner auch ein Teil des Weinguts Markgraf von Baden mit Probierstube und Verkauf. Für Unterhaltung sorgt die beliebte Greifvogelschau.

So bleibt das Schloss Staufenberg nach dem jüngsten Umbau erst recht eine der ersten Ausflugsadressen mit heimischer Gastronomie für jedermann!